Photo of the Week: July 16, 2012

Mountain goats graze the alpine tundra in the surreal environment atop Froze-to-Death Plateau in the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness.

I took this photo with one of my first compact digital cameras on one of my first backpacking trips with my son in “The A-B” back in 2008.  We were amazed to find that the goats here seemed to be quite habituated to humans and were not at all timid about approaching at close distances.  This particular experience was one of many that cemented my love for these mountains and a longing to return over and over.

This week, I am on a peak-bagging and photography expedition with my brother in The A-B as you read this.  Look for a trip report from our adventure coming soon!

One thought on “Photo of the Week: July 16, 2012”

Leave a Reply

