More Images from Glacier Lake

Further to yesterday’s post, here are some additional images from a recent  all-day adventure that took me around the shore of Glacier Lake and up to the summit of 12,283-foot Spirit Mountain, pictured here from a different trip to Black Canyon Lake in 2009.

On this most recent occasion, I took the shorter, southern route via beautiful Glacier Lake. Although this route is far easier than the northern Black Canyon approach, it cost me the skin of my knuckles after I foolishly attempted a shortcut to gain the southwestern ridge approach.  The shortcut resulted in a dead end, followed by an intentional, bare-handed snow arrest sans a lost glove that had earlier fallen out of my pocket unnoticed.  As in so many of my previous experiences, the mountain always exacts a toll, but in this case the views were worth it!

2 thoughts on “More Images from Glacier Lake”

Leave a Reply

